top of page

7 Ways To Memorize Scripture

Hey y’all…. Mentor Mama here! I’ve been so encouraged to see such a broad span of ages following Coffee and Bible Time.  Well, this message was written for you – no matter how old you are!! We are talking about Bible Memorization.  I know, I know…that sounds like work, right?!  Before you skip right out of this blog, give me 5 minutes, and I promise you’ll be encouraged to build a legacy with this spiritual discipline!!


So let’s start by taking a big breath in, drawing crucial oxygen into our respiratory system. Now imagine the parallel of oxygen to the Scriptures, as if they were as vitally important as the very air we breathe. 2 Timothy 3:16 says “All scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness..” How even greater if we have these truths stored up in our minds for all the times when we don’t have our Bibles with us.


If you struggle with this discipline, first try to change your mental attitude. Rather than this being something you should do or have to do, it should be considered a way that we can show our love towards God, believing that God’s truths can equip, empower, encourage, and strengthen ourselves and others!


EQUIP – Having verses stored up in your memory bank comes in amazingly handy in the craziest of situations. Take the dentist’s office, for example. Now I have nothing against dentists, it’s just that I feel a little anxiety in the chair. However, when I recite Psalm 23 in my head over and over, my nerves are calmed while I am reflecting about all of the different teachings in that passage.


EMPOWER – God’s Word empowers us with the truths of the Gospel message, giving us everything we need to know to share our faith and help people realize they can know God personally. Commonly known as the Roman’s Road or Plan of Salvation, these verses explain who needs salvation, why we need it and how to get it. See this great link from CRU that helps shares these verses and more: https://www.cru.org/us/en/how-to-know-god/would-you-like-to-know-god-personally.html


ENCOURAGE– So often, we need encouragement ourselves and God often uses us to encourage others. When I choose verses to memorize, I like to pick ones that I know will help me but that I can also use to minister to others. One such verse for me has been 2 Timothy 1:7 “For God has not given us a Spirit of fear, but of power and love and sound mind.” In fact, I have this one pinned right up on my computer monitor!!Hopefully by now you’re starting to see the joy that God wants to grant us when we savor His Word in our hearts. So how do we go about doing that in some fun ways?


7 TIPS for BIBLE MEMORIZATION


1. Pick a scripture verse and verbalize it one word at a time, each time adding one more word. For example, let’s try 1 Peter 1:24.

The

The grass

The grass withers

The grass withers and

The grass withers and the

The grass withers and the flowers...  (all the way until)

The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of the Lord endures forever. 1 Peter 1:24


2. The second tip is to apply this same technique, but instead of verbally, use your hands by either writing out one word at a time with a pen, or type them out on an old-fashioned typewriter or computer.


3.The third method is to use fun songs to memorize scriptures. And, hey, this isn’t just for kids!! Put them in your playlist and play them over and over again while on a long walk or run. Before you know it, they will be second nature in your mind. Of course, you might find yourself singing the verse to encourage someone, but why not?! Here’s a link to one of my favorites – John 3:16: https://youtu.be/1PVFlbZyrcc


4.Now this next idea is from a really fun app which is simply called ‘The Bible Memory App’. It was formerly known as Scripture Typer (if you happen to be familiar with that one). This app engages three cognitive areas of learning: audio, visual and kinesthetic. And, it’s just plain fun!! https://apps.apple.com/us/app/the-bible-memory-app/id496790833


5. Pick a verse and use the reference as a password to your computer or cell phone. I am constantly learning new verses with this method because every time my computer goes into sleep mode it takes a password to let me back in. I force myself to recite the verse before I press enter. So, in the verse used in Tip 1, my password would be something like 1Peter124! Believe me, this really works!!


6. Have fun using scrapbook supplies to make memory cards. Take a 3x5 card and write the verse on one side and the reference on the other side. Let your creative juices flow by using washi tape, colorful markers and stickers to decorate your cards. Punch a hole in the corner of each card and put them on a ring and keep them in your backpack or purse. You never know when you will be sitting waiting for something or someone. Instead of going on your phone, devote some time to memorizing God’s Word!


7. Pick up this ABSOLUTELY terrific book on Bible Memorization: 100 Bible Verses Everyone Should Know by Heartby Robert Morgan. He has the most amazing way of grouping verses together that make sense memorizing in order as well as giving great suggestions for verses on various topics. He also provides wonderful background on the meanings behind the verses. I think you’ll be quite intrigued by his Psalm 23 insights! Click here to pick one up from our Coffee and Bible Time Amazon store today. https://www.amazon.com/shop/coffeeandbibletime


So, here’s my challenge for you: pick a verse and start today! Before you know it, you’ll have verses coming off the tip of your tongue and will be using them to help yourself and others. Comment below on what verse you are choosing to memorize or other Bible Memorization tips you may have!

3,387 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


Josh
Aug 07, 2021

I love this, Ashley! I've used both the Bible Memory App, that you mention, as well as writing it down. Another technique I love is to record myself saying the verses/chapter and then listen to it as I'm taking a walk in the morning. It really helps!

Like

Kayla Fils-Aime
Kayla Fils-Aime
Apr 13, 2020

Thank you so much for this, this is going to be so helpful. I am going to memorize Matt 6:32 (NKJV)

Like

Melissa S.
Melissa S.
Apr 06, 2020

Love it so much!

Like

mag-dalene
Feb 26, 2020

Thank you so much for this awesome post,I also just got the book,,,it’s really helpful👍Love you and your girls😊

Like
bottom of page