top of page

How did the Proverbs 31 Woman fight the LIES of her Culture? In-Depth Bible Study



Hey friends!

I don't know about you, but for me, my whole life I have looked up to the Proverbs 31 Woman. She has been quite the inspiration for my life. Not to mention... I have a mother who I sometimes think is the Proverbs 31 woman modern day clone... Well, let's just say my mom is a warrior for God's kingdom and portrays many of the Proverbs 31 woman type qualities. I have looked up to these two ladies my whole life! 


I have also done many studies on Proverbs 31, whether that was online or a devotional type book. These studies helped shape me to have a more noble and strong character! 


But here's the thing... these studies were all very similar. They were all reading this chapter from a modern day woman point of view. They were not fully putting themselves in her shoes. In her time period. In her culture. 


As I was reading the Bible one morning, I somehow started studying Proverbs 31... (not sure why because I was supposed to be studying Judges haha!). But I believe God led me to this passage for a reason, because He completely opened my eyes to a new things in Proverbs 31 that I have never seen before and it was life changing. Of course, I could​n't help but share this with you! 


I believe it's extremely important to open up the Bible and not just read it for five minutes and then close it and move on with your day, but to open up the Bible and dive into the story. To put yourself in the original shoes of the character in the story and to research their culture. 


We live in a completely different century than the Proverbs 31 woman. By putting myself in her shoes, I was able to learn so much more from this text. Although there are many differences in my life and her life, there are still many similarities. One HUGE similarity I pulled out of this text was the fact that she was SURROUNDED BY LIES from her culture and the surrounding cultures... and when I really thought about it, I knew that was the same in our culture too. Daily, I am bombarded by lie after lie. They are everywhere. In our culture, it is normal for us to be consuming media for hours on end, and a lot of this media is doused with lies from the enemy. 


As I was reading and studying this text, my eyes were opened to how this strong woman of God fought the lies of her culture and didn't let the lies control her. 


It is my hope and prayer, that as you study this text, your life would be transformed. That you would pinpoint every lie in your life that is tearing you down and kick them in the butt! You were created to live on fire for the Lord! Don't let the lies stop you, shove them out of the way, set them on fire with God's truth, and live for the Lord in complete freedom! 


Love, Ash






1,516 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page